caprese frittata

April 16, 2014 § 6 Comments

Hi World!…Friends….friend…….Mom?

I’m not even sure my mom reads this.

The show must go on though. Let’s talk about food you can make with eggs…

Tomato. Basil. Mozzarella.  The holy trinity of caprese. These three are a match made in flavor heaven.  At least to this partial Italian girl.  They can go into so many recipes.  And trust, at my house they certainly do.  It helps that growing both basil and tomatoes is super easy in Florida.  To the point that even when my basil dies in the winter it just sprouts itself right back up in the spring. Check out these leaves 🙂

IMG_20140412_194538

I can’t take any credit…this was all nature. I gave up on all the plants in my container garden after the first big cold snap we had last year.  And in the past month this basil found its way back up on its own. Along with some rosemary and mint, amazingly. Bravo, nature.  Now, if I could just get a mozzarella plant to take root everything would be well with the world.

As I carried on about in my last post, I love savory breakfast foods.  And eggs are definitely one of my all time favorites things to cook.  They are SO versatile.  Quiches, omelettes, tarts, scrambles, burritos…I could go on.  But the star of this show is a frittata.  Basically, a crustless quiche that you cook off right in the pan.  And since I am a strong believer that breakfast is good all day, this was actually dinner (and I am sure will also be at least one breakfast, maybe two, because these little guys portion and re-heat very well.)

Here is the break-down:

–6 eggs

–2 tablespoons cream (or half and half, or whatever you have)

–1 teaspoon pesto

–1 diced roma tomato

–3 abnormally large basil leaves (or 5 regular sized)

–1/4 cup mozzarella cheese

–salt and pepper to taste

From here it is truly as easy as beating the eggs, cream, pesto, basil, and salt/pepper together. Drop all of that into a greased (I use non-stick spray) non-stick pan over med/high heat.  Give the eggs a swirl or two with a spatula.  Drop in the tomatoes, they will sink a bit and this is ok.  After a minute top with your mozzarella.  Let the eggs cook until the outer edges seem set.  Now you are going to pop the whole pan under your broiler (4ooish degrees.)  Watch it carefully so that your cheese doesn’t burn.  A nice golden brown is the goal.  Take it out, with mitts of course, and after a couple minutes of cooling it should slide right onto a cutting board to be served!

IMG_20140415_193419IMG_20140415_193455

If you are feeling creative this would work just as well if you added spinach, prosciutto, sun-dried tomatoes, or you could switch it up and top it with parmesan/provolone.  What I’m trying to say is…it’s a hard one to screw up.  So eat up!  Happy Wednesday 🙂

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 6 Responses to caprese frittata

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading caprese frittata at the jj report.

meta